Dear Friends of Orchestral Music

A reminder that the Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra’s Spring Season opens next Thursday 1st September at the City Hall with violinist Jordan Brooks who will be performing Sibelius Concerto for violin and orchestra with Bernhard Gueller conducting. The programme also includes Beethoven’s Coriolan Overture and Symphony Fantastique by Berlioz.

If you are not able to attend the evening performances then you can join us once more in the morning for the Final Dress Rehearsals which FOM are hosting. Tickets are available on Quicket and all the details and links are below.  The rehearsals start at 11am and run through to around 1.30/ 2pm with an interval half way through. If you have any queries or problems logging onto Quicket you can contact us directly and we will help.  All the monies raised go directly to the running costs of the CPO.

The incredible work of the CPO never ceases to amaze. In-between the symphony season they are also performing for the upcoming UCT production of Sarah Baartman, written by Hendrik Hofmeyr which takes place at the Baxter Theatre from September 7 to 10. All details can be found at

Thank you for your support of music in Cape Town, we look forward to seeing you at a live performance again soon!

Kind regards

Louise Howlett
for Friends of Orchestral Music

CPO SPRING SEASON PROGRAMMES:Spring Symphony 1: Thursday, 1 September
Rehearsal booking link:

Conductor: Bernhard Gueller
Soloist: Jordan Brooks (violin)

Beethoven: Coriolan Overture
Sibelius: Violin Concerto
Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique

Spring Symphony 2: Thursday, 15 September
Rehearsal booking link:

A Taste of Belgium
Curtainraiser: CPYWE conducted by Faan Malan

Conductor: Rik Ghesquière
Soloist: Jolente De Maeyer (violin)

August De Boeck: Rhapsody Dahamèeene
August De Boeck: Violin Concerto in D minor
Franck: Symphony in D minor

Spring Symphony 3: Thursday, 22 September
Rehearsal booking link:
 Rik Ghesquière

Soloists: Tim Kliphuis (violin)
Peter Martens (cello)
Charl du Plessis (piano)
and Liam Burden (saxophone)

Bernstein: Candide Overture
Kliphuis: Triple Concerto
Kevin Houban: Legends of a Giant
Bernstein: On the Waterfront Symphonic Suite


Spring Symphony 4: Thursday, 29 September
Rehearsal booking link

Conductor: Bernhard Gueller
Soloist: Avigail Bushakevitz (violin)

Brahms: Tragic Overture, Op. 81
Saint-Saens: Violin Concerto No. 3
Dvořák: Symphony No. 8 in G , Op. 88